Former President Farmaajo sworn in as a lawmaker-for-life.

Former Somali President, Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo, was on Sunday officially sworn in as a member of Somalia’s Lower House parliament for a life term.

Farmaajo was not elected, but article 64, paragraph 4 of the constitution, written in 1960, allows a former President to be given a seat in the Lower House of Parliament as an MP.

Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo is now the 277th Member of Parliament.

Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo welcomed to be sworn in as a member of the parliament, saying that he would work for the benefit of the country, the people and the religion.

In March 2017, the

Hassan Sheikh Mohamed was the first President sworn in as a life-term lawmaker after Farmaajo defeated him in the presidential election.

Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed served as president of Somalia from 2017 to 2022 and was prime minister of Somalia for six months, from November 2010 to June 2011.